meus intuitus

Arroz con Gandules

leave a comment »

So I’m at a Puerto Rican lunch counter joint replete with possible Puerto Ricans and want to order some “arroz con gandules” (rice with pidgeon peas) as recommended by a PR coworker. Do I say “arroz con gandules” with the accent that I am somewhat capable of, “arroz con gandules” with a deliberately American accent just to avoid sounding like that guy who over-pronounces foreign words I mean I know I speak some Spanish but nobody else knows that and god forbid anyone thinks I‘m trying too hard, “rice with pidgeon peas” and risk not being understood (I can’t seem to find it on the menu, I was just told to order “arroz con gandules” and what if they don’t know that we call gandules “pidgeon peas” I mean I only just learned that pidgeon peas and gandules were a thing myself a few hours ago), “rice with peas” and risk getting an entirely different kind of pea from the one I want, or maybe I should’ve filled that script for klonopin because all this ruminating is sounding a lot like an anxiety disorder after all.

Written by meusintuitus

December 25, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

