meus intuitus

this eight billion

leave a comment »

It’s a mixed sentiment–between nostalgia for the life I used to have and a universal empathic melancholy for the lives we all lead in parallel.  As I sit here filling my mind with factoids and driving myself ever closer to my limits, there are hundreds of my friends and acquaintances slowly making their way through their lives as well.  Beyond them, even…  Globally there are billions of us sharing this exact moment in time—all equally oblivious to one another, all equally immersed in this experience we call life.  Or perhaps there are a few out there, at this very moment, who are not oblivious.  Perhaps there are a few others, at this very moment, who are also taking a minute to step out of the slipstream to appreciate… to feel.  I am certain they are there and I consider them my dearest companions in this moment.

In a short 80 years there will be a new eight billion on this planet.  I am excited for them.  Life is such a rich and wonderful thing.

Written by meusintuitus

September 6, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Leave a Reply

