meus intuitus

moldy goodness

leave a comment »

Throughout this month in France, I have been struggling to acquire a taste for French bleu cheeses.  I like bleu cheese in America, but my experience with bleu cheese has not been authentic at all.  Unlike what I had been accustomed to, French bleu cheeses come not in destroyed little bits laced lightly with hints of blue, but in massive blocs replete with furry blue-indigo craters.  It’s intimidating—the mold on these cheeses is apparent, not merely understood.  As such, it has taken me the better part of a month (until this day at lunch) for me to learn to appreciate the French bleus.  In the end, it came down to de-alienizing my experience by relating what I was tasting to the bleu-esque cheeses I’ve had previously in America.  Once I realized the foundational similarities between the French bleus and the plebean bleus I was accustomed to, I began to appreciate how much richer and more interesting true bleus like Roquefort are.

Written by meusintuitus

July 28, 2011 at 3:23 am

Posted in expression

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

