meus intuitus

siesta

with one comment

Everyone says that they come home from work absolutely exhausted.  I attribute much of this to the lack of an afternoon nap in American (and French) culture.  During the medical school year, I can be engaged in my studies for as much as 12 solid hours in a day (not including time for breaks, lunch, and dinner).  Over the course of such marathons, my momentum is recuperated by power naps.

I am in a research lab this month and I can find no fashionable way to nap as I am accustomed to.  As such, my day’s momentum precipitously declines after lunch, bottoms out around 2:00 PM, and remains quite low through 5:00 PM when I leave.  Today, however, I managed a 10 minute nap (unfashionable though the manner may be) in the bathroom.  I walked away from said nap unsoiled and refreshed.  Maybe I’ll make this a policy for the remainder of my stay here.

Written by meusintuitus

July 20, 2011 at 5:39 am

Posted in expression

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The culture of the Anglosphere is more of a masochistic warrior culture.
    The collective sets the tune to which all must march and those who can’t hack it are wimps.

    Giovanni Dannato

    August 5, 2011 at 4:09 pm


Leave a Reply

