meus intuitus

new objective

with one comment

People showboat a lot in medical school.  Flexing your mental prowess before your peers and mentors is an unspoken element in the curriculum.  Unfortunately, I have not the superb detail retention, quick recall, nor the abundance of desire for showboating.  As a result, I often find myself feeling inept due my relative lack of contribution in some group situations.  This feeling will be eradicated—otherwise things will only get more difficult for me as I enter my clinical rotations, where vocalizing is graded and the physician mentors are vicious.  People will talk more than me, residents will belittle me, and I will have to study more than I feel is fair, but never again will I allow myself to feel inferior.

Written by meusintuitus

January 26, 2011 at 1:16 pm

Posted in expression

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would not be discouraged. I generally am useless in group situations because I’m too damn slow to pre-empt someone else.
    When I am listening to someone else, I have no interest in interrupting them. If I start gabbing, it’ll just disrupt a perfectly good stream of information.
    Even should I desire to respond, I consider a response carefully. By then someone way more tongue happy has long since taken the initiative.
    The fast talker though, rarely seems to have much of
    value to say. The people who least ought to talk, do most of the group talking.

    I sometimes wonder if we belong to a certain breed of person who operates by default in a lower mental gear. Slower overall speed but moves greater loads over more challenging terrain.
    After all, there are tradeoffs between speed and quality in nearly every other process we can observe.

    unclegluon

    January 30, 2011 at 9:44 pm


Leave a Reply

