meus intuitus

fortunate shackles

leave a comment »

As tough as it is, medical school really is great. I am certain that one day I will look back on these days and long for the quiet hours alone at study–a most purposeful of solitudes. Like all the stages of my life before this one, two characteristics permeate my experience: Certainty and carelessness.

Here, in medical school, life is preset–a preset direction, definition, and purpose. We are afforded a certain carefree-ness rooted in not having to deal with the enormous responsibility of our one and only life… because for now we are here, and can only be here, in medical school.

I wonder what it will be like–the day on which the rest of my life is laid out before me–when residency ends and I step into a new world for the last time–the “real world.”

No longer will life be a sketch pad upon which I prototype my identity–high school, college, medical school. One day, life will spread before me, the canvas upon which I paint my masterpiece.

Written by meusintuitus

September 14, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Posted in contemplation

Leave a Reply

