meus intuitus

exit the rat race

with one comment

With the stability and income bracket that my future career promises, I am provided with a marvelous opportunity, I realize. We live in a society that values, first and foremost, material things. Life, for many, is just a ridiculous dick-measuring contest–who has the most expensive car, the biggest house, the finest clothes. We get an education not just to ensure ourselves a living, but for a chance at a certain consumerist definition of “success.” This particular form of success is really just a game and most people play it thinking it is life. Those with granite countertops and Cadillacs are the victors–to an extent. Those with five houses and Bentleys are victors–to a greater extent. It’s all relative. The thing about the game is that there is no winning it. There are always bigger houses to buy and faster cars to drive.

Having realized the trivial nature of the game, one has two options: Play it or quit it. This is, in fact, a step up from not seeing the game for what it is–when one has but one option (play it).

From here on out, I need to cultivate my own perspective and opinions to reflect those of someone who exists outside of the game. This does not mean that I will wear burlap sacks and live in caddy shacks. Rather, it means developing the capacity to say with full belief and contentment that enough is enough. Making $200,000 a year doesn’t mean that I have to buy a house and a car that reflects such an income. Instead of acquiring things that fit our incomes, we should acquire things that fit us.

For many of us, that means a big house and a BMW. However, I really like the idea of living modestly–and leaving the money for things that I truly enjoy: Dining out, travel, family, etc. I want a house for living in, not showing off (throwing dinner parties and all that noise). I want a car that is practical, not pretentious. If I do indulge in cars, I want them to deliver performance, not status–and in that case, the car would be a means of enjoying my life more: Taking it to the track, tuning it myself, driving, learning, experiencing.

What car you drive really can tell people a lot about you. I want my cars to say “practicality” and “capability.” What cars say such things? A Honda Accord and a Lancer Evolution. The Accord is a workhorse for commuting. The Evo is a performance beast (without the pretension of a German brand).

tl;dr: The less money you spend on the game, the more money you have to spend on your life.

Written by meusintuitus

September 9, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Posted in contemplation, expression

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Read an article on spending more for experiences rather than material belongings–more trips, less garage sales.

    good shit.

    Anonymous

    September 12, 2010 at 3:01 pm


Leave a Reply

